Sea, Sands, Secret Streets and Smugglers
Robin Hoods Bay was first mentioned in the early 1300's and again in 1536 as a “Fisher townlet of 20 boats”.
Strong maritime influences can still be felt in the village today, although the once thriving fishing village has declined over the years, a few cobles and small fishing boats can still be seen putting out to sea today
Due mainly to its isolation and surrounding moorlands, in the 18th century, Robin Hoods Bay was reportedly the busiest smuggling community on the whole of the Yorkshire coast. Riddled with bolt holes and abandoned secret passages, it was said a bale of silk could pass from the bottom of the village to the top, without leaving the houses.
Latter day employment in the village became tourism and until the closure of the railway station in the 1960's, people flocked from all over Yorkshire to take in the fine sea air.
In the late 40's and 50's a Tea Hut once precariously stood on the cliff face, accessed by wooden steps. This was removed in 1957 to make way for a new sea wall defence. We are proud to say, after a gap of 60 years, the Tea Hut is back in exactly the same position as the original - now renamed The Galley on the Quarterdeck.
Take a look at our fine menu and enjoy the varied choice of refreshments available - All come with a stunning sea view of the Bay and Ravenscar and a revitalising sea breeze.